Journal Prompts to Heal Each of Your 7 Chakras

Written by: Taylor Blanchard

Your chakras are your body’s energy centers. They are spinning wheels of energy that can both affect and be affected by your thoughts, emotions, and environment.

We have many more than the ones I have listed here. In fact, different ancient texts cite different numbers of chakras, but there are seven primary chakras you need to know about.

These seven chakras form a line from the base of your spine to the crown of your head. They are symbolized by the colors of the rainbow, starting with red and ending with violet. Most importantly, they can all become blocked by different challenges we face in our lives.

The important thing to note here is that everyone has blockages in their chakras. There is no need to strive to be perfect or to beat yourself up. Instead, strive for progress, awareness, and self-love as you explore your energy centers.

Below, you’ll find journaling prompts to help you bring love and healing to each of the seven chakras, as well as a bonus eighth journal prompt to round them all off.

#1. Root Chakra

“The real gift of gratitude is that the more grateful you are, the more present you become.” -Robert Holden

The root chakra, located at the base of the spine, is blocked by fear. Often, when we’re afraid of what’s going to happen, afraid of not making enough money, afraid of being abandoned, and most often, afraid of not having enough. When we are not grounded, we are not connected to our root chakra.

Root chakra

This chakra is healed by gratitude, reminding ourselves of all that we have, and grounding with the Earth. In your journal, explore the following question:

  • What am I fortunate to have? This can be anything, big or small– even the blue sky or the air in your lungs.

#2. Sacral Chakra

“Rather than fearfully shutting down your sensitivity, dive in deeper into all possible feeling. As you expand, keep only those who are not afraid of oceans.” -Victoria Erickson

Located a few inches below the navel, this chakra is the seat of your creativity. In addition, the statement for this chakra is “I feel”– thus, it is intricately connected with your deepest emotions.

The sacral chakra is blocked by guilt, and can be healed through self-forgiveness. When we feel guilty, we may shut down any emotions we have about a person or situation; for example, you may feel guilty about saying the wrong thing to a friend, and therefore, you don’t allow yourself to express your frustration about the way that friend is treating you.

Sacral Chakra

To heal this chakra, explore the following in your journal:

  • What am I still beating myself up for? How can I see this situation in the most loving way possible? If my own child did the thing I beat myself up for, what would I say to them?

#3. Solar Plexus Chakra

“I am not what happened to me. I am what I choose to become.”

The third chakra is the seat of your personal power. Located at the solar plexus, it is blocked by shame. When you step into your true, authentic self, you empower yourself, and you activate the solar plexus chakra. Similarly, when you are afraid of being yourself, your solar plexus may be blocked.

Solar plexus chakra

We heal this chakra by telling ourselves “I can”. Explore the following in your journal:

  • What would I do if I had no limits? If I couldn’t possibly fail?

#4. Heart Chakra

“You carry so much love in your heart. Give some to yourself.” – R.Z.

Located at the heart (of course), this chakra is the seat of love, and is blocked by grief.

This love applies to loving both yourself and others. If you have experienced any major grief or trauma, you may feel a blockage here.

Less obviously, though, the blockage can also occur from disappointment (which is in itself a loss), or a lack of self-acceptance. Your heart grieves a thousand times more than you even realize when you reject or ignore yourself and your perfect innocence.

Heart chakra

In your journal, consider answering the following:

  • Is there something in my heart that feels heavy right now? What am I grieving over? Feel free to get all of your grief and heaviness down on paper, to cry, and to offer yourself all of the love that you truly deserve.

#5. Throat Chakra

“Speak the truth, even if your voice shakes.”

From the throat chakra originates truth and communication. The throat chakra is blocked by lies – not just lies that you tell others, but lies that you tell yourself, which may be something such as “I’m happy in this job”, “I don’t care what they think”, or “I’m okay”.

Throat chakra

Heal this chakra by communicating how you really feel, or by talking to a safe, supportive person. Communicate the answers to these questions in your journal:

  • What are some things that I think or feel, but have never expressed to anyone? What would I say if I was not afraid of what anyone thinks?

#6. Third Eye Chakra

“A quiet mind is able to hear intuition over fear.”

Your third eye is located at the center of the eyebrows. This chakra is where your intuition lives and it is blocked by illusions. If you’re someone who overthinks and feels afraid or confused often, your third eye may be blocked.

Heal this chakra by meditating, and listening to your heart or your intuition rather than your fear or your mind.

Third eye chakra

Tune into your intuition with these questions:

  • When I listen to the quiet, kind, calm voice underneath all my fear and worry, what does it say? What do I really know, “deep down”? (This quiet and loving voice is your intuition. It is ever-present, and it will always be there to guide you.)

#7. Crown Chakra

“The root of suffering is attachment.” -Buddha

The final chakra is located at the crown of the head, and often symbolized as a thousand-petal lotus. Blockages in any of the lower chakras lead to blockages in the crown, and in addition, the crown is blocked by attachments.

These may be material attachments, physical or interpersonal attachments, or even mental or emotional attachments. Are you attached to people’s opinions of you, for example?

Another thing to note is that you can love people or things without being attached to them– and even more so, actually. When we practice non-attachment, we can love someone or something no matter what it can do for us. This releases the object of our love to be completely free, which is the definition of true love.

Crown chakra
Become aware of your attachments with these questions:

  • What people, things, or situations do I consciously or unconsciously try to control? What if I recognized that control is an illusion? How can I surrender to life?

Bonus Journal Prompt

Need more inspiration? To tie all seven chakras together and ignite your alignment and self-awareness, here are a few more questions for self-exploration.

  • Is there any part of me, whether physical, mental, emotional, or spiritual, that I feel needs additional healing? How can I offer more love and care to that place (whether through loving words, touch, meditation, or any other self-care activity)?

Related posts

Author Info
Taylor Blanchard is a yoga teacher, traveler/travel enthusiast, blogger, and freelance writer. She enjoys discovering places she’s never been before, learning more about herself and the world we live in, and sharing her experiences on her blog, You Belong Everywhere.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.